Links & Resources

Former Students

Students who have worked with us in the past are doing all sorts of amazing things. Check out what they are up to! And if you should be on this list and aren’t, let us know!

 

Kara Holzmiller, Build. Sow. Grow, http://buildsowgrow.com/ 

Chris Phillips, Greening Homes, http://www.greeninghomes.com/

Christine Carracciolo, EcoCentrix Design, www.ecocentrixdesign.ca

Melanie Dee Martin, Flow Environments (Interior Design & Construction), www.flowenvironments.ca

Sean Harris, Sean Harris Construction, http://www.seanharrisconstruction.com/

Chris Johnston CET, C&D Services, chris.cdservices@gmail.com

Leslie Doyle, Restoration Gardens (Living roofs), http://www.restorationgardens.ca/

 

Natural Homes Map

Naturalhomes.org maintains a map of homes and other buildings made with natural materials:
<iframe src=”http://naturalhomes.org/themap.htm” width=”440″ height=”370″  frameborder=”0″ scrolling=”auto” marginwidth=”0″ marginheight=”0″ allowtransparency=”true”></iframe>

Collaborators

We have had the great fortune to work with remarkable collaborators in our projects. Check out the following folks:

Consultants

Blackwell Bowick Partnership, structural engineering, www.blackwellbowick.com

Dale Brownson, design, dale.brownson@sympatico.ca

Centre for Alternative Wastewater Treatment, constructed wetland design, www.flemingc.on.ca/CAWT/

Elfstrom Engineering, HVAC engineering and design, www.elfstromengineering.com/

Geo-Logic, geotechnical investigation, www.geologicsystems.com

The Greer Galloway Group, geotechnical investigation, www.greergalloway.com/

Colin MacDougall, Dept of Civil Engineering, Queen’s University, structural testing, www.civil.queensu.ca

Our Cool Blue Architects, architectural design, www.ourcoolblue.com/

Rivercourt Engineering, water and waste systems design, www.rivercourt.ca

Soma Earth Architect, architectural design, www.somaearth.com

 

Manufacturers/Distributors

Merrett Home Hardware Building Centre     www.home-hardware.net

Bubble Action Pumps, non-electric solar hot water pumps, www.bubbleactionpumps.com

Chisholm’s Lumber, lumber, www.chisholmlumber.com

Eco Building Resource, insulations, LED lights, finishes and more, www.eco-building.ca

Eco Ethic, composting toilets, www.ecoethic.ca

Eco-House Paints, silicate mineral paints and tints, www.eco-house.com

Eco-Safety Products, SoyCrete floor stain, www.ecosafetyproducts.com

Evolve Building Group, paints and finishes, www.evolvebuildinggroup.com

Fibretech Windows, fiberglass triple pane windows, www.fibertech.com

Foam Concept, recycled foam insulation, www.foamconcept.ca

Haliburton Forest, timber and lumber, www.haliburtonforest.com

Homestead House Paint Company, milk paints and stains, www.homesteadhouse.ca

Inline Fiberglass, fiberglass triple pane windows, www.inlinefiberglass.com

Lutes Cedar, milled cedar tongue and groove and trim, www.lutescedar.com

Mar-Co Clay Products, plastering clay, www.marcoclay.com

Mitsair, Mitsubishi Zuba air source heat pump, www.mitsair.com

Murphy Lumber, lumber, www.murphylumber.ca

Silk Road Bamboo Flooring, bamboo flooring, www.silkroadflooring.com

Upper Canada Forest Products, FSC certified plywood, www.ucfp.com

Upper Canada Stone Company, quarried limestone and marble dust, www.uppercanadastone.com

Wilson’s Forest Products, lumber, 613-473-4724

Windy Ridge Studio, lumber, 705-457-1596

 

Green Building Stores in Ontario

ECO Building Resource, www.eco-building.ca

Sustain, www.sustainecostore.com

Zero Point, www.thezeropoint.ca

The Healthiest Home,www.thehealthiesthome.com

Trades

Artech Studios, blown glass truth windows, www.artechstudios.ca

CA Peters Crane Service, crane service, www.quintecrane.com

Camel’s Back Construction, plastering, www.strawhomes.ca

Churko Electric, electrical contractor, www.churkoelectric.com

Danford Construction, excavation and trucking, 613-473-2468

Donovan Plumbing, plumbing, www.donovanplumbing.ca

Eco-Options Geo Solar, direct exchange geo thermal heating, www.eco-options.ca

Eco-work.ca, rainwater harvesting, www.eco-work.ca

Electric by Nature, electrical contractor, renewable energy, 613-539-6010

Flanagan and Sun, solar hot water and renewable energy, www.flanaganandsun.com

Generation Solar, PV and solar hot water design and installation, www.generationsolar.com

HavenCraft Natural Homes, geothermal heating, radiant floor heating, www.havencraftnaturalhomes.com

James Howe Builder Ltd, crane service, 705-286-2707

Leslie Doyle Restoration Gardens, http://www.restorationgardens.ca/

McClouds Water Treatment, potable rainwater treatment, www.mcleodsecowater.com

Nurse Crane Rentals, crane service, 705-742-0488

Orville Thertell Electric, electrical contractor, 705-932-2698

Whippletree Post and Beam, timber frame design, build and teach, www.wpltree.ca

 

Research

There is a wild abundance of sustainable building information online… here are some of our favourites:

Building Science is a great place to learn both basics and details of leading edge building science.
http://www.buildingscience.com/

Environmental Building News is one of the most trustworthy sources of information about green building products, as well as home of a great online newsletter featuring a wide range of useful articles and blogs.
http://www.buildinggreen.com/

The Development Center for Appropriate Technology works to enhance the health of the planet and our communities by promoting a shift to sustainable construction and development through leadership, strategic relationships, and education.
http://www.dcat.net/

EBNet promotes, fosters and catalyzes the transformation of building to favor intelligent design, clean energy, and healthy materials. EBNet finds and disseminates ways to conserve scarce resources, to make intelligent use of abundant waste materials, and to thereby slow the destruction of the natural systems upon which we depend.
http://www.ecobuildnetwork.org/

The Ontario Straw Bale Building Coalition is a great place to learn about straw bale building in the province and beyond. Links exist to most of the important testing documents, and the professional member’s list is comprehensive.
http://www.osbbc.ca/

The Last Straw Journal is an important natural building resource with a great resource page.
http://thelaststraw.org/

Canada Housing and Mortgage Corporation (CMHC) library contains thousands of research papers, from mainstream to alternative construction, most of them available for free.
http://www.cmhc-schl.gc.ca/en/corp/li/index.cfm

Passive Buildings Canada serves as a Passive House Information Group that provides a network for the Canadian Passive House community to connect, share knowledge and experience, and empower the delivery of Passive House projects.
http://www.passivebuildings.ca/

The Healthy Building Environmental Learning Centre’s mission is to be an instrument for environmental change, helping to create healthy homes, schools, and workplaces, free of toxins in the indoor air and tapwater, and electromagnetic pollutants.
http://hbelc.org/

Natural Building Network is a not-for-profit membership association promoting natural building principles, materials and practitioners worldwide. We support ecological regeneration, social justice, the building of community and economic opportunity, and the recognition of indigenous wisdom as essential in creating healthy, beautiful, and spiritually-uplifting habitation for everyone.
http://nbnetwork.org/

Living Building Challenge is a remarkable sustainable building rating system. Endeavour will be attempting certification under the Living Building Challenge on all our projects.
https://ilbi.org/lbc

Eco-Sense is the first residential project to be certified to Living Building Challenge standards. There is lots of great information here on the project, research that has been completed on the building and insights from the builders.
http://ecosenseliving.wordpress.com/ 

Natural Building Resources is an international resource listing of natural building materials suppliers, related products and services
http://www.naturalbuildingresources.com/ 

Natural Builders Northeast is a group of builders, designers, consultants, educators, and professionals practicing the art of natural building and design. Their members are located throughout the northeastern United States and offer a wide range of building services and lively discussions.
http://www.nbne.org/ 

The eco-Energy program is a Canadian government initiative that provides grant incentives for energy efficient retrofits to existing homes.
http://www.ecoaction.gc.ca/ecoenergy-ecoenergie/index-eng.cfm

The Micro-FIT program from the Ontario Power Authority offers homeowners and businesses wishing to generate renewable energy a contract to feed their energy into the grid at terrific rates.
http://microfit.powerauthority.on.ca/

Facebook
Facebook
YouTube
YouTube
Instagram
Close
loading...